WELCOME!

                          ALL ABOUT ME!

   
 
 
 My name is Shawna and I am 41 years old. I have been married to my husband, Robert,  for going on 18 years. We decided together when we were dating that we opening an in home child care would be a great way for me to do all of the things I had planned for my life. I had a desire to create a warm and loving environment for our children to grow and learn and I felt I could do a better job at this if I shared my talents with the community and do this for other children also. So I started at 21 years old with 5 daycare children to care for. I loved it! But there was still so much I  wanted to do! I wanted to return to school to learn as much about children as I possibly could and so I did. This story really has no beginning because I have always loved children and it certainly has no end because I am still here, in my home, doing what I love...caring for children.
 
     I grew up (so to speak, I'm still a kid at heart!) in the small town of Lebanon, Indiana.  I have always loved and been fascinated by children.  As a young child when my mother would take me out I could often be found following a stroller, quizzing unsuspecting parents about the child's home life and whether the child's needs were being met. I once (at the age of 3) asked a mother whether or not she had a crib for her baby. (My own daughter at 3 years old also did this to one of the parents whose child I care for!  I was deeply amused!  I guess the apple doesn't fall far from the tree.)

     I began babysitting at the age of 12 working almost every weekend. I remember I had a laundry basket that I always took with me filled with fun things such as toys, games, & activities for the children to keep busy while in my care. I guess that is what made me a popular babysitter. I always had so much fun when caring for children. I feel this is what influenced my decision to work with children.  I loved watching them, talking to them, talking about them, reading about them, playing with them, showing them new things, & creating new experiences for them. I read every baby care and child development book I could get my hands on and I still do. I believe this gives me an edge and a deep understanding as to how children grow and learn.

      Some personal goals I have for myself are to continue my education with Ivy Tech and receive a Bachelor's Degree in Early Childhood Education. I would also like to go to Nursing school and receive an RN degree.  That is so I can offer a childcare option for children with health issues where parent's would otherwise be afraid to leave their child or wouldn't be able to work at all. I feel my child care home is a wonderful place to learn and grow and I have much to offer children and their families.